I finally went and read some of the Stuff White People Like blogs.  They’re funny and too true.  But I don’t get why they get so many hits?  I don’t know.  I’m still new at this whole thing. 

But anyways, I thought it was a good idea so I’m going to do some shameless copying of their idea.  At least I’m not the only one.  I heard that there’s now Stuff Black People Like too, and probably others, so I’m just getting in on the game.

Stuff College Students Like #1: Other people’s ideas

College students love to find someone else’s fabulous idea and copy it.  They will add their own twist to it, but it’s basically the same thing.  They do this because a.) they’ve seen that it worked when somebody else did it, b.) it is now socially acceptable, so they feel they can do it without being chastised by peers and/or the people who came up with it in the first place, and c.) by giving it their own twist, they can feel like they’ve created their own new thing without actually having to think anything new. 

College students will often be found talking about “their” new idea like this:  “Hey, dude, I had a great idea…yeah, it’s sweet, I really think it could be something….Yeah, I got the idea from (wahtever they copied from) yeah it’s different, though.”

This occurs most often in white college students who think they’re smart and are always on the lookout for something that will make them stand out or that they can make money on without any risk.  They want other people to think they’re the inventors of the idea, so they will quite often minimize credit to the original inventors. 

