The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is simply my favorite five-book trilogy ever written.  If you watched the movie that goes by same name, don’t be put off reading this book.  It’s like comparing a housecat to a mountain lion. 

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is collectively five books in a series, labeled a trilogy, and absolutely hysterical.  We have Monty Python humor going on, P.G. Wodehouse, Terry Pratchett, and then times that by ten and you have Douglas Adams. 

The books (which you can buy in one enormous volume) begin with a man named Arthur Dent, who is about to be rescued by his friend Ford Prefect, an alien from the star system of Betelguese, from the imminent destruction of Earth by bureacratic, nasty aliens called Vogons to make way for an intergalactic bypass.  This is in the movie.  The movie doesn’t go much further than this.  The books, however, use all this as basically only one part of the very first book. The rest is all about Arthur Dent and his amigos Ford Prefect, Trillium, and the President of the Galaxy himself, Zaphod Breeblebrox.  Unlike in the movie, Arthur and Trillium don’t have a little love story going on, (although Arthur wouldn’t mind).  The differences abound.  The books are so complex and bizarre that you really have to read them twice to get it.  Even then, I’m not really sure if there’s something there to “get” or if it’s just a bunch of bloody good random ideas sewn together into something that I really didn’t want to end. 

I don’t want to ruin the plot for anyone, –although there really isn’t much of a plot that could be ruined– but the ending is not very happy.  But don’t let that put you off reading it.  I loved it.  It remains one of my favorite books of all time and I’m definitely going to read it again this week while getting used to this polyphasic sleep thing–which, by the way, starts tomorrow!  I’m so excited.  I hope it works with my mother of a track schedule. 

